Skip to content Skip to navigation

Don Williams

Senior Broadband Development Officer
US Dept of Commerce

Don Williams serves as a senior specialist for broadband development for the new BroadbandUSA program at the National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA), U.S. Department of Commerce. He serves as a strategic advisor, supplying technical assistance to communities as they implement broadband deployment and adoption programs to advance economic development, education, health care and public safety. Read more about Don Williams

Adam Welchel

Director of Conservation Programs
The Nature Conservancy

Adam Whelchel’s 25-year year career in leadership positions has catalyzed partnerships with strategic direction while with government agencies, private firms, academic institutions and nonprofit groups in the United States, China, Southeast Asia, Caribbean and Africa. Dr. Whelchel is a dynamic communicator called upon to assist diverse groups from around the world with team building, strategic planning and community resilience. Read more about Adam Welchel

Rich Walsh

Corporate Vice President

Rich Walsh is corporate vice president and deputy general counsel for commercial law, litigation and regulatory law for Valero. Much of the work involves interfacing with key regulatory agencies such as the U.S. Coast Guard, U.S. Department of Homeland Security, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, U.S. Department of Transportation, the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, U.S. Read more about Rich Walsh

Tony Toups

Advantage Capital Partners

Anthony “Tony” Toups joined Advantage Capital in 2006. He is involved in the firm’s national expansion efforts and economic
development activities, working on the  implementation of public/private investment programs that foster access to capital. He is a frequent speaker on these topics and also provides legal advice and representation as corporate counsel.

  Read more about Tony Toups

Ann Swanson

Executive Director
Chesapeake Bay Commission

Ann Swanson has served as a leader in the Chesapeake Bay restoration for nearly 30 years, the last 26  as the executive director of the Chesapeake Bay Commission,  a tri-state legislative authority serving the states of Pennsylvania, Maryland and Virginia. It is the commission’s responsibility to sponsor legislation at the state level and to work with state legislators, members of the U.S. Read more about Ann Swanson

Diane Sullivan

Diane Sullivan has worked for many years advocating for affordable housing and addressing the rise of homelessness in  Massachusetts.  Sullivan was honored for her work, receiving the Nancy Nye Award by the Boston-based Women's Institute for Housing and Economic Development. Read more about Diane Sullivan

Clive Strong

Chief, Natural Resources Division,
Office of Idaho Attorney General

Clive Strong coordinates legal representation for the departments of Agriculture, Environment, Fish and Game, Lands, Parks and Recreation, and Water Resources for the state of Idaho. He served as lead counsel in Idaho Power Company v. State and Idaho Power Company v. Idaho Department of Water Resources, Case No. Read more about Clive Strong

Mike Strain

Louisiana Department of Agriculture

Dr. Mike Strain was elected to serve as commissioner of the Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry in 2007 and sworn into office in January 2008. Born and raised on a cattle farm in Covington, Dr. Strain was very active in the Future Farmers Association and 4-H. He earned a Ph.D. in veterinary medicine from Louisiana State University. Read more about Mike Strain

Mike Steenhoek

Executive Director
Soy Transportation Center

Mike Steenhoek is executive director of the Soy Transportation Coalition (STC), an initiative established in 2007 and comprised of the United Soybean Board, the American Soybean Association, and twelve state soybean boards. The Soy Transportation Coalition exists to promote a cost-effective, reliable and competitive transportation system that serves the agriculture industry. Read more about Mike Steenhoek


Subscribe to State Ag and Rural Leaders RSS